2008 Newberry and Caldecott winners are in

Newbtitl Hey readers,

I was surfing around a few kidslit blogs that I frequent today and ran into the winners of the American Library Association Newberry Medal and Caledcott Award.  The Newberry was awarded to a book called Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!: Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz.  I have never heard of this book but apparently it is a very interesting book written almost like a narrative poem.  I now have this book on my "need to read list" and I will let you know when I get through.

Caldtitl No need for a "need to read list" for the Caldecott winner for me.  The winner of the 2008 Caldecott Award was The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick.  I read this book at the beginning of the school year and really enjoyed it.  For those of you who have not read this book I whole heartedly suggest you pick it up.  It is a very strange book as it is written just like any other book, but from time to time the words end and a series of pictures tell the story.  Those pencil drawings though out the book do more than just enhance the story, they tell the story.  For his hard work and new style of storytelling Brian Selznik has a well deserved award.

My question for you is do you care?  Does the Newberry medal on the front of the book make you pick it up?  Will you read the 2008 Newberry and Caldecott winners?  Leave us a comment and let us know what you are thinking.

Rowdy Keep Reading,

Rowdy Roddy

Leave a Reply

