What I’m Reading Right Now…The Lightning Thief

Lit20thief_new Hello Reading Aficionados,

We have been on a bit of a break here at Guys Read, but keep checking in, we will be getting lots of new stuff up in the next few days.

I know that I am about the last person on the planet to read this book, but I just finished The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan and can say without hesitation that it was one of my favorite books.  I am whole-heartedly hooked on Percy Jackson and can’t wait to read books two (Sea of Monsters) Three (Titan’s Curse) and the newest Percy Jackson adventure (Battle of the Labyrinth which is due out in May).

My favorite element in this book was how Rick Riordan threaded the Ancient Greeks into modern life.  I had the Medusa thing figured out before it was revealed and laughed out loud thinking about a garden shop full of stone figures created by Medusa.

If you like Rick Riordan you may want to visit his blog.  It is updated all the time and has great news about Percy Jackson, the possibility of a movie and other Riordan projects.

So have you read The Lighting Thief or another Rick Riordan book?  Did you enjoy the adventure?  Leave us a comment below and share your thinking.  We would love to hear from you.

Read On,

Rowdy Rowdy Roddy

Images borrowed from http://www.rickriordan.com/children.htm and www.actiontoys.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Scr…

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Right Now…The Lightning Thief

  1. I’ve read the lighting theif and the other two books of the Percy Jackskon series, and I loved them. My favorite part of the book is when Percy sends Medusa’s head to the gods to show that he has powers. It was one of my favorite series of books that I read because the nonstop action and humor.

  2. Hey Rowdy Roddy,
    I think you would have to be insane not to love this book and this series. They’re so action packed and seemed to be glued to my hands while I was reading them. I enjoyed them so much, that I had finished all three books in about a month. I also think it’s cool how Riordan entwines Greek mythology into the stories. I actually learned something about Greek culture.
    Hacksaw Jim Duggan

Leave a Reply

