Why Won’t You Children Read???

Angry_parentShould parents be able to make their kids read certain books? Just last month my mom went to the library and picked out a few books she thought I might be interested in. She forced me to read a book about the Holocaust because I was watching to much TV (there’s no such thing as to much TV!!!). I don’t think that parents should force children to read a certain book because most kids enjoy books that they pick out because they know exactly what they are looking for in a book. The book ended up being pretty good, but it wasn’t exactly what I wanted. If more kids pick when, were, and how much they read it might help them enjoy and motivate them to read more. I only think that it is appropriate when the kids won’t read at all. I would much rather be reading a book that I chose then some stupid book my mom got me at the library. How about you? Leave a comment and share your feelings.

  Brutus -Bruce the Barber Beefcake

I

mage borrowed from: http://www.actiontoys.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=123&Category_Code=WWFHSL and http://www.angermgmt.com

4 thoughts on “Why Won’t You Children Read???

  1. I agree with you Brutis,
    I think that parents do not have the right to force their kids to read certain books if they read already. Now, if the kid does not read, then I think it’s appropriate, to maybe get them motivated, but otherwise, I think we should be able to pick out and read our own books.
    Hacksaw Jim Duggan

  2. Hey Cyber bloggers,
    What an interesting question to ponder. As a teacher and a dreaded parent myself I see this a little differently than you. I see my role is developing readers as introducing kids to the best and varied text out there. I kind of like the idea of a parent coming home and saying to a kid, “Hey I’ve got a great book or story that I would like you to read.”
    Now I can see how this could be twisted and the kids would only have books that the parents wanted them to read and that doesn’t sound very fun. I do think a healthy mix of personal choice and parent referal is import to developing readers.
    Am I way off balance here? Should parents have any involvement with your reading choices? Leave a comment and let me know what you are thinking.

  3. I agree with Bruce the Barber Beefcake, but also with Rowdy Roddy because you can read the books you like, but the book your parent picks may become one of your favorite genres. Also you’ll learn how the authors’ style is like writing different genres.

  4. Hey Bruce! I just wanted to tell you that this was a realy good blog post! But I think you should have elaborated more on why you should be the one to pick the books. i’ll be reading more from you!
    lEmOnHeAd ThE gErBiL

Leave a Reply

