My Reading Footprint

Hey Readers,

I like to follow the blog of author Alan Gratz.  He came to visit our school last year and I had a great time both reading his great novel, Samurai Shortstop, and visiting with him

Right before New Year's he put up a post talking about how he keeps track of all of the books he has read in one year.  I thought, "Hey I do that" but as a teacher a year for me is not January to December, a year is August to June.

P1140085

Every school year my students and I start a reading checklist.  This list does not have any reviews attached to it we simply track the number of books we read and categorize them by genre.  The idea was to help students see how many books they finish in a school year, help them visualize what types of books they tend to read and allow them to branch out into other types of reading if they wish.

Alan talked about how he doesn't track his comic reading, but does list the graphic novels he finishes.  I have a few rules for myself.  I also track graphic novels and because I have a long commute to school and home each day I also include books on CD, which I check out from the library and listen to in my car. 

I try to read around the genre checklist each year, reading at least one book from each of our ten genres.  I always end up with a hole in wedge #7…horror.  One year I cheated and read a book called Loch by Paul Zindel, not really a horror book.  Another year I read Coraline by Neil Gaiman, again only sort of a horror story.  This year I read Wait Til Helen Comes by Mary Downing Hahn, which was scary to me and was the closest I am going to get to a horror story.  I hate horror!

So as of today I have finished twenty-three books.  Not a bad run for only being half way done with the school year.  The following is my a photo of my genre checklist and a typed list of the books I have read from the back of this sheet.

P1140083

Pond Scum by Alan Silberburg

Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer

Spud by John Van de Ruit

Ingraine the Brave by Cornelia Funke

Bone #1 Out of Boneville by Jeff Smith

Eggs by Jerry Spinelli

The 39 Clues, The Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan

Half-Moon Investigators by Eoin Colfer

The Calder Game by Blue Balliett

Dovey Coe by Frances O'Roak Dowell

Long Way Down by Ewan McGregor and Charlie Boorman

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

The London Eye Mystery by Siobhan Dowd

Spiderwick Chronicles Vol. 1 by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

Mosque by David Macaulay

The Road of Bones by Anne Fine

The Tales of Beedle the Bard by JK Rowling

The 39 Clues, One False Note by Gordan Korman

Porch Lies by Patricia McKissack

Artemis Fowl the Graphic Novel by Eoin Colfer

Team Rodent by Carl Hiaason

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

(I was going to link all of these books and realized how long that would take, please feel free to research these titles on your own at your leisure)

As I was typing this list I realized I missed Wait Til Helen Comes.  I remember finishing it one day in class and I must have failed to add it to my list.  I did finish it and it will be counted as a horror story, like it or not.

I would like to note that Long Way Down and Team Rodent are books for adults, but as you can see I rarely step foot out of the kid lit pool.

So do you keep track of the books you read?  What do you think of my list?  Have you read some of the same books?  What did you think of them?  Think about hitting that comment button and sharing some of your thoughts.

Keep reading,

Rowdy Roddy

One thought on “My Reading Footprint

  1. Looks like you are doing well. I keep track of what I read through my blog, but nothing as scientific. I also hate horror, but rather liked The Hand of the Devil by Dean Vincent Carter, and Hell Phone by William Sleator. Also got sucked into Darren Shan’s Cirque du Freak series. So there are some books that are clever AND horror. You might give them a try.

Leave a Reply

