The 2009 Newbery Award…I guess I chose poorly

Today the branch of the American Library Association called the Association for Library Services to Children announced the winner of the 2009 Newbery Award.  The prize this year was given to Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book.

I have a funny little story about this book.  As many teachers will no doubt know after school closes for the holiday break you usually have a few bookstore gift cards to burn through.  This year I was very lucky and had lots of Boarders cards given to me.  I ripped through most of them over my break, but had a few left last Friday and decided that because I was about to track back in I would use them up.  I picked up two books that I had been eying for a few weeks now… Science Fair, by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson and The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman.

I think you can see which book I chose.

P1260138 

I decided on Science Fair mainly because I have been reading some heavy books of late (The Road of Bones, The Hunger Games and Little Brother) so I was looking for a silly book and after reading the first few pages of Science Fair and listening to Dave Barry destroy a middle school science room on NPR I knew I couldn't go wrong.

I am still looking forward to reading and enjoying Science Fair, now I just have one more book on my must read list.

So do you know Neil Gaiman?  Does The Graveyard Book look like something you would read?  Did the ALSC get it right this year?  Hit that comment button and let me know what you think.

Read On,

Rowdy Roddy

2 thoughts on “The 2009 Newbery Award…I guess I chose poorly

Leave a Reply

