Scat and a Visit from Carl Hiaasen

Hello again readers,

I'm sure you are not getting at all sick of my blog posts, but I am happy to announce that the SMS Guys Read Club will be back in session next Tuesday, if all goes well.  That means more student blogging and less of me.  I say if all goes well because the meeting is scheduled, but I may have to cancel, you see my lovely wife is expecting our son any day now and that might just take precedence over a SMS Guys Read Club meeting.  The good news there is that we will have one more Guys Read member very soon.  He may want to eat the books at first, but we will get him reading soon enough.

If the meeting is canceled then just know that we will be back in session as soon as we can.  You can always comment on older posts and let us know what you are reading and what you think about reading and books.

P1290134

Now the the real reason for today's post…Scat!  Did you know that scat is a semi-scientific name for animal poo?  I have been in many science classes where we had to call animal dropping scat.  I have no idea if that is the reason Carl Hiaasen named his newest novel for young people scat, but he just might have.

I just picked up the book this evening from our local community owned book shop.  I love Quail Ridge Books and look forward to Monday night when Mr. Hiaasen himself will visit and talk about his new book. 

Scat with ticket

As you can see I will be in the D signing line group.  That means I have thirty or thirty-five people ahead of me.  If you remember when Rick Riordan came by I was in signing line group E, I guess I got lucky this time.  I did see lots of Hiaasen books on the back shelf just waiting for people to come by and pick them up.  I expect a huge group that night.

I have only read a few pages of Scat, but so far so good.  How can you go wrong with a science teacher that makes a girl who has just vomited in class write a paper listing the five major muscles used in the act of regurgitation?

If you have not read Hoot or Flush, Carl Hiaasen's other two books for younger readers, do yourself a favor and get to it.  I would put Hoot somewhere in my top ten kids books of all time!  That is quite an endorsement. 

So I am off to read, as you should be doing as well.  If all goes well I will report back next week on my visit with Carl Hiaasen.

Read on,

Rowdy Roddy

3 thoughts on “Scat and a Visit from Carl Hiaasen

  1. i read scat,
    its a really good book
    he he…………………………………………………………………………………..
    i might read the other 2 kids books to….
    c u l8r…
    someday………………………….

Leave a comment