Reflecting on a School Year

Hello readers,

We are quickly approaching the end of our year-round school year…I will pause to let the din settle across the SMS Guys Read crowd… and we are thinking we should reflect on our year in reading.

I have asked each SMS Guys Read member in attendance today to think back over the books they read over the school year and decide which book they liked the best.  This can be a hard task for a group of guys that read as much as we tend to! 

Each guy will write about one book that they really enjoyed, and if I can get them to expand (remember they are two weeks to the end of school and their brains are starting to go on summer, jelly mode) on why they liked that book so much.  If the guys have a few extra minutes they will list out some books that are on their summer and future reading lists.

So to begin I will share the book that most moved me this school year.  I had a tough time, sort of, narrowing it down to just one book, but after thinking for about five seconds I realized that no other book could really hold a candle to Science Fair by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson.

Science Fair is one of those books that you have to read dry.  That means you better not be drinking anything while reading or that liquid is coming out your nose, it is seriously that funny.  How can you go wrong with a group of snobby rich kids who get it in the end, a crazed scientist, a group of backwards Krshptskanians, an insane Star Wars collector with his Wookie companion and a huge nuclear mentos to cap off the action?

I have handed this book to many students this year and kid and kid has devoured the book and shared it further.  Do yourself and favor and check it out this summer.  You will not be disappointed.

As for my summer reading list I am excited to finish Airman by Eoin Colfer and then I want to move on to Roar by Emma Clayton.  Airman is a wonderful retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo that just keeps on getting better and better.  I have heard great things about Roar and look forward to picking it up next.  If you liked The Hunger Games I think The Roar might be for you.  I also need to finish off the Percy Jackson series with The Last Olympian.

On the horizon I am excitedly awaiting two books that will be published this fall.  They are Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins.  both look like great books to keep me reading.

So guys what books did you like the most this school year?  What books are you going to read this summer?  What are you looking forward to?  Hit that comment button and let us know.

Rowdy 

Read on,

Rowdy Roddy

Leave a Reply

