Leviathan…Is Here!!!

Hello loyal readers,

The timer has finally reached absolute zero.  Welcome to the real world, Leviathan.

P1010173

As you all know we here at SMS Guys Read will be using Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan as our first group read novel.  We have listened to the opening read by Alan Cumming and look forward to the rest of the novel.

I procured my copy this morning at our local Borders after being teased by the nice cashier lady over the weekend.  The Borders bookshop is having it's teacher appreciation week (which this year got me 30% off and made the hard cover Leviathan almost affordable for a lowly teacher) and my family and I were checking out on Sunday afternoon and I noticed a stack of Leviathan copies behind the counter.  I asked the nice lady if I might hold one for just a moment, but alas no was the response and I had to wait until today to get my hands on this beautifully produced book.

I can't wait to get into the story and share some of the cool extras Scott Westerfeld added to his blog over the weekend.  I will be interested to see how many guys from the club remember to get the book and have it read when we meet again on October 20.  I will also be interested to see how many guys enjoy this novel.  The steampunkgenre is really taking hold with some out their and I will be intrigued to see if a middle school guy is someone who grasps the idea.

Here I am, sporting my traditional track-out beard (I'm off until Oct. 19), standing with the new book.  You will notice the upshot angle as my five year old daughter is the photographer for this pic.

PA060181

Read on steampunkers,

Mr. H
 

One thought on “Leviathan…Is Here!!!

  1. i am researching books to buy for mostly boys in grades 5-8. i started to read your reviews in 2007 and there were no grade suggestions with each book review.
    can you tell me what the grade level is for the books that are reviewed on this site.
    thanks very much

Leave a Reply

