I Guess it is 2010 and I Should be Reading!

Greetings Readers,

Today is Monday and most of the world had to go back to work and school today.  What a bummer that must have been. (Include a small, but sinister giggle here) I, on the other hand have just begun my track-out or three weeks off.

That means that SMS Guys Read is on hiatus for the next few weeks, but we will meet again the last week of January.

During our last meeting we talked about the 2010 YA Reading Challenge and I wanted to bring you a quick update on my very new year in reading.

For Christmas my lovely wife got me Libba Bray's Going Bovine.  I kind of cheated in this whole reading 25 books in 2010, as I started reading Going Bovine just a few days before the new year.

P1230869

Going Bovine is defiantly a book for teens.  I would not introduce it to any middle school student, but for more mature readers it would be a fun ride.

Libba Bray has created a very strange and wonderful ride in Going Bovine.  I have read about half of the book and am now really getting into the adventure.  It all starts with a loser high school kid named Cameron, who hates most everything about his life..school, sister, parents and soon the fact that he is having strange and upsetting hallucinations.

Cameron ends up contracting Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy, or Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease(Cameron says this sounds like a killer set of speakers), or Mad Cow Disease.  Once he is in the hospital he gets what could be a vision, could be a hallucination, or could be an angel visit.  This Dulcie tells Cameron he has to find Dr. X by following the signs.  He and a fellow student, who happens to be a dwarf with a bit of hypochondria, set out on a journey from Texas to New Orleans.

I have really enjoyed the first half of the book.  It is funny and strange, fast-paced and a question that I really want to find the answer to.

So check out the blog in the next few weeks to see how I am coming and after the guys get back to school we will fill you in with their reading adventures.

By the way the Newberry Award will be announced on January 18.  That book will probably find its way onto my list.

Read On, or like Lesley a recent commenter said so well…read for your lives!

Mr. H

Leave a Reply

