2010 Newbery Award…Take Two

Hello Readers,

Earlier this week I eagerly awaited the announcement of the 2010 Newbery Award winner.  I got the news like most kid lit readers that the winners of both the Newbery and Caldecott awards were leaked via Twitter hours before the actual announcement.  Whoops!

Anyway I had constructed a blog post of sheer beauty to reflect on that Newbery announcement that, of course, got lost when I started writing the last post about Going Bovine and needing a reading break.  Oh well.  So it goes in the blogging world.

So if you didn't know…When You Reach Meby Rebecca Stead won the Newbery.  It was not much of a surprise this year.  Many mock Newbery clubs, including the one here at SMS picked this book as the winner.  I have to admit when I first got a look at this book it did not jump out at me as a good Guys Read type of book, but then I remembered that old adage about books and covers. 

So I will give When You Reach Me a try.  I here is really good.  Many of the Newbery Club members in my classes said they loved it.  All girls I might add, but still.  It is supposed to be similar to A Wrinkle in Time, which I liked a lot.  The latest TAB book order pairs the two books together, which I thought was interesting marketing.

I am going to give it a try, will you?  Hit that comment button and let us know what you think of the Newbery Award choice.

Read on,

Mr. H

Leave a Reply

