Do You Ever Need A Reading Break?

Hello Readers,

Yesterday I found out that Libba Bray's Going Bovine won the Printz Award for outstanding young adult fiction.

As you know I am currently reading Going Bovine and I have been enjoying the novel, butthat is a big book.  A few days ago I was dead in the middle of the story and I have to admit I was a bit adrift.  The plot had taken Cameron, who has Mad Cow Disease, on an odyssey to find a cure and save the world.  I was finding it hard to stay interested in the journey.  I really just wanted to find out if Cameron was really on a trip or just really hallucinating.  So I decided to take a little book break.

While at the local library branch a few days ago I came across a little book called Toro! Toro! by Michael Morpurgo.  I was familiar with Morpurgo because of his World War I novel,Private Peaceful.  Toro! Toro! is a nice simple story about a Spanish family that raise bulls for bullfighting in the 1930's right before the Spanish Civil War breaks out.  The story is a strange combination of an easy to read story and really heavy content.  At first I thought this might be a good book for an elementary school reader, but as the book gets to the climax and resolution the story gets very heavy and horrible.  Some readers might get a bit disturbed by the way things happen.

Toro

I really enjoyed the short novel and it got me another book toward my 2010 YA Reading Challenge (I am now up to two out of 25).  It also got me away from Going Bovine for a day and now I am back into the novel and really loving it.

So readers, do you ever need a reading break?  Do you ever set a book aside for a time and then come back to it?  Hit that comment button and let us know what you think.

Read On,

Mr. H

One thought on “Do You Ever Need A Reading Break?

  1. Sometimes I have to stop reading children’s and YA books and read an adult romance like Maeve Binchy or Nora Roberts, then I go back to my usual program. We all need a break from time to time.

Leave a Reply

