My Reading List Thus Far and The Old Audiobook Debate

Dear Readers,

Today I thought it would be interesting to take a look at the books I have read so far this year.  For Christmas my wife gave me a wonderful little set of blank journals that I promptly set aside and earmarked for journals to keep track of my reading.  I generally keep a genre pie graph at school that I keep track of the books I have finished and then share with my students, but as I am not teaching language arts this year I decided to start this reading journal at home, though I have shared it with both the guys in the SMS Guys Read club and my general students.  I really like the idea of having a nice leather bound book that has a record of my reading.  I intend on keeping this little book going for as long as it has paper to write in.  So far I have used two and a half pages, so I have a long way to go.

Here is the list starting in January of 2010…

January

  1. Swindle by Gordon Korman (Audio book)
  2. Toro! Toro! by Michael Morpurgo
  3. Zoobreak by Gordon Korman (Audio book)

February

  1. 2010 by Arthur C. Clarke (finished Feb. 2)
  2. Going Bovine by Libba Bray (finished Feb. 4)
  3. In Too Deep (Book 6 in The 39 Clues) by Jude Watson (Audio book, finished Feb. 9)
  4. Tangerine by Edward Bloor (Audio book, finished Feb. 16)
  5. The Viper's Nest (Book 7 in the 39 Clues) by Peter Lerangis (finished Feb. 23)
  6. Found by Margaret Peterson Haddix (Audio book, finished Feb. 25)

March

  1. Tales From Outer Suburbia by Shaun Tan (finished Mar. 2)
  2. When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead (Audio book, finished Mar. 8)
  3. I Am A Genius Of Unspeakable Evil and I want To Be Your Class President by Josh Lieb (finished Mar. 15)
  4. Millions by Frank Cottrell Boyce (Audio book, finished Mar. 22)
  5. The Booklyn Nine by Alan Gratz (finished Mar. 23)
  6. The Giggler Treatment by Roddy Doyle (finished Mar. 25)

April

  1. The Rabbits by John Marsden and Shaun Tan (finished Apr. 7)
  2. The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick (finished April 7)

 So do you have thoughts on my list?  You will probably notice I have denoted if the book was an audio book or paper book and in February I started keeping track of the day I finished the book.

I was a bit surprised at how balanced the list seems to be.  I have always considered myself a slow reader and that is one of the reasons I got into audio books, I could get through more books.  But as I look over the list I noticed that I have seven audio books and ten paper books.  That actually surprised me as I would have guessed that I would have had more audio books.  To be completely fair some of the paper books were pretty short picture style books, The Rabbits only takes about five minutes to read and The Giggler Treatment I had done in about 30 minutes, so the list is quite balanced.

I seem to have this argument from time to time about audio books, I am reading when I listen to the story in the car?  Most of the guys in SMS Guys Read say I am not reading.  My daughter also says that I am just listening to the story, not reading it.  I had said initially that I was reading the story as I knew the plot and what had happened just like I had read the paper book, but I am starting to cave into the pressure and now I feel like a better explanation of what I am doing is having the book read to me.

So does that cause controversy?  Can we agree that I am having books read to me?  You have been very shy about commenting of late, I don't think we have had a comment since the end of March.  Don't be shy we won't bite, I might even respond to you directly, you never know.  So hit that comment button and let me hear what you are thinking.

Read On,

Mr. H

Leave a Reply

