Need A Good Listen…Check Out The True Meaning of Smekday

Hello Readers,

Today we hit February and my second month of reviewing every book I read or listen to for a whole year.  On my way home from work today I had the painful delight of coming to get to the end of The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex.  I say painful delight because I love getting to the end of a book as it means I can move on to the next read on my list, but with Smekday it was painful because I so loved the world and the fantastic narration.

I have a copy of Smekday on my bookshelf and have wanted to read it for a while now.  I am getting into this Adam Rex guy.  I read Fat Vampire a few months ago and Rex has added both art and stories to the newest Guys Read anthology.  But, the real reason I checked out the digital audiobook was the fact that The True Meaning of Smekday won an Odyssey Award at last month’s ALA awards.  The Odyssey is given to the best audiobook recording of the year.

I knew that Smekday was going to be a funny story, but I don’t think I was prepared for just how funny this novel is.  Smekday is hilarious.  I haven’t read a book as funny as this since I read Science Fair by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson.

I’m sure I would have laughed out loud if I had read the novel, but if you have the opportunity see if you can find the audiobook version…it is well worth your time.

The True Smekday tells the story of Gratuity Tucci, Tip to her friends (tell me that isn’t funny), who has a simple life with her mom and her cat.  Her simple life is turned upside down when Earth is invaded by an alien race known as the Boov.  The Boov end up abducting Tip’s mother and use her to learn English.  This parentnapping gives Tip a true hatred toward these silly sounding little aliens. 

When the whole of America is told they are to relocate to Florida, Tip and her cat start a journey that will end with nothing short of saving the world.

As I have said this is a funny book with lots of great jokes, silly one-liners that just keep you going and going.  For me, though, the best part of this was the narration done by Bahni Turpin.  She creates a voice for the Boov aliens that makes you absolutely love them.  I my humble opinion it is truly worthy of an award given for best audio recording.

After listening for a while I picked up the book and remembered that Adam Rex is an illustrator as well as an author, and Smekday is full of fabulous illustrations and comics.  I found myself carrying the book along with me and checking out the pictures when I got to traffic lights and even when I would get home or to school.

Go get The True Meaning of Smekday…you will not regret it…trust me!

Read On,

Mr. H

One thought on “Need A Good Listen…Check Out The True Meaning of Smekday

  1. Ooooh! Hahaha! That looks like a good Guys Read-ish book!

    But just to say, Fat Vampire wasn’t really the book for me though … too much … how would I say this?… immature stuff.

Leave a Reply

