The Attack of Hugo The Movie

Hello Readers,

As you may well know SMS Guys Read attacked our local cinema last night to see the opening of the movie Hugo, based on Brian Selznick’s The Invention of Hugo Cabret.

I was super excited.  I loved the book and I have never seen a 3-D movie.  I was also a little nervous as I was going to be in the charge of a fairly large group of middle school age boys, hyped for a school break and cashed up at a movie theater.

Everything turned out pretty well and we all had a really good time.

Can you believe that I had 28 middle school guys on the day before Thanksgiving at a book club outing!

The movie is absolutely amazing. I read the movie companion book before seeing the film and I truly recommend reading that companion before seeing the film.  You will know so much about the true world of early film making, George Melies, automatons and how this great book became a great movie.

I have so many favorite scenes and parts, but I have to say that my absolute tops are the scenes with Christopher Lee, the bookseller.  So many great lines about books and libraries and a book shop that would make any book lover drool…and it was in 3-D!

So many of you will see Hugo this Thanksgiving, we would love to hear your thoughts on the film, the book and what you enjoyed about the whole experience. Hit that comment button and share your thoughts on Hugo.

Read on,

Mr. H

3 thoughts on “The Attack of Hugo The Movie

  1. 3-D is awful. Paying extra for something that just makes it harder to focus on the storyline?!?!? No thank you. I take my movies in 2-D please.

  2. I watched this movie last night with my parents and knowing that you guys had seen this movie I had to say my favorite scene is the one at the end of the movie when George Melies is talking about Hugo and Hugo almost cried. I also really like the work of Chloe Grace Moretz who plays Isabelle. Most convincing British accent ever!
    Rainbow Soil
    p.s. Dawson totally rocked the hat and 3D glasses!

Leave a Reply

